CANADIAN POLITICS: A Public Statement On My Federal Support

THIS IS JUST A STATEMENT OF FACT. I AM NOT TRYING TO CONVINCE YOU EITHER WAY BUT PROVIDE YOU WITH THE TOOLS AT THE END OF THIS STATEMENT TO DISCOVER FOR YOURSELF.

I’ve been a Conservative voter since 1988. That first time around, I had just turned 18, I believed in the work that Mulroney was doing, and lauded his guts for trying to correct the mess that started with Pierre Trudeau and the lack of Quebec’s signature (though admittedly, there was no way in hell that Levesque back then would have signed it). Even during the lean years when poor Charest had the thankless job of propping a dying PC party, I still continued to vote PC. It was, at the time, the party that made sense for me overall as the PC was still a centrist party.

The Problems of C-51 is the powers it gives to CSIS

The Problems of C-51 is the powers it gives to CSIS

Even after the merger with Reform/Canadian Alliance, I had continued to vote that way. For those who are puzzled about that decision back then, I wasn’t anywhere near the community firebrand I am today, and admittedly my social beliefs were quite a bit more right and even can be described as evangelical. But also, I lived in a riding where the voter was taken for granted, the former Liberal stronghold of NDG-Lachine (originally NDG).

This time, it’s different. I’m conflicted in giving my support to Harper, and if anyone is interested in my single biggest opposition this time around, it’s C-51.

I don’t recommend anyone reading it in it’s entirety unless you’re a glutton for punishment. It took me several hours months ago, but there’s a reason why virtually every newspaper in Canada, civil group and legal group has found it to be a fundamental limitation on our civil rights, where CSIS becomes a virtually unregulated shadow police and the limits on free speech could be curtailed as its so vague that it could be interpreted in extreme ways easily.

In the world where good intentions do pave the way to hell, this is one of them. I understand the intentions intended to keep us all safe, but what’s one beneficial group’s tools can be a tyrant’s means.

With Harper the mind behind it, and Trudeau blindly or stupidly backing it, I’m honestly considering a protest vote against Harper… and I live in his riding of Calgary-Heritage.

As for those who’ve noticed my work and support for Kent Hehr in nearby Calgary Centre despite his being Liberal, this is one case where I support the best PERSON for the riding, not the party. He himself had nothing to do with C-51, and has fought not only for LGBTQ rights, but for the cause of those he represented in the past, and well. If you do vote in Calgary-Centre, you wouldn’t find a better representative.

Terry Lo, September 9th 2015

A tool for a good cause can be used for tyranny

A tool for a good cause can be used for tyranny

To Find C-51 Resources Go To:
http://www.quirksandquiddities.ca/a-collection-of-resources-concerning-bill-c-51-the-anti-terrorism-act/#s2

You’ll find the Bill as a whole, plus virtually all of the press and analyses behind it. The one created by Global Research is an especial compelling read that states and shows point by point the problems with it.

BILL 51 http://www.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?Language=E&Mode=1&DocId=6932136

LEGAL PRIMER http://www.globalresearch.ca/canadas-antiterrorism-bill-c-51-a-legal-primer-expands-the-powers-of-canadas-spy-agency-allows-arrest-on-mere-suspicion/5436727

One thought on “CANADIAN POLITICS: A Public Statement On My Federal Support

  1. I left the PC’s because of Mulroney and stayed neutral for a while. Then joined the Fed Liberals when Paul Martin started to bring our finances back in line. l
    Totally distrusting and disgusted with Harper in almost every aspect of his “governance & leadership.”
    C51 is practically facsist. I fear our government more than terrorism in Canada

Leave a comment